Announcing the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize Winners


The head of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, Berit Reiss-Andersen, announced that the committee will award the Nobel Peace Prize for the year 2021, and that two journalists have won the prize for this year.

According to the committee’s statement, the two journalists, Maria Ressa, a Filipino-American and Dmitriy Muratov of Russia, were awarded the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize “for their efforts in defending freedom of expression, which is one of the conditions for democracy and lasting peace.”

The statement added that the award was given to the two journalists, “for their courageous struggle for freedom of expression, in the Philippines and Russia, representing, at the same time, all journalists who stand in defense of these ideas in a world where democracy and press freedom face difficult circumstances.”

The Nobel Peace Prize is the fifth award awarded this week after the Tanzanian writer, residing in Britain, Abdul Raziq Gournah, won the prize in the field of literature, and the two scientists, Benjamin List of Germany and David Macmillan of Britain, won the Chemistry Prize, and the Americans David Julius and Ardam Patbutian won the Medicine Prize. For discovering receptors in the skin that sense temperature and touch, the Japanese meteorologist and climatologist, Seokuro Manabe, the climate modeler Klaus Hasselmann, and the Italian physicist Giorgio Baresi won the physics prize, Russia Today reported.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *