Salah and Mahrez are among the nominees for the 2021 FIFA World Player of the Year award


The French magazine “France Football” announced today, Friday, the names of the nominees for the Ballon d’Or for the year 2021, which it presents to the best player in the world annually.

As was the custom in recent years, the famous French magazine published the names of the 30 candidates in 6 batches, each batch included 5 names.

The two Arab stars, Mohamed Salah and Riyad Mahrez, were among the list of nominees to win the award.

The first batch:

Algerian Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City), French N’Golo Kante (Chelsea), Norwegian Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund), Italian Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus), English Mason Mount (Chelsea).

The second installment:

English Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), Italian Gianluigi Donnarumma (Paris Saint-Germain), England’s Raheem Sterling (Manchester City) and Italian Nicolo Parilla (Inter Milan).

third batch:

Argentine Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain), Portuguese Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United), Spaniard Pedri (Barcelona), Croatian Luka Modric (Real Madrid) and Italian Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus).

Fourth batch:

Belgian Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Brazilian Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain), Portuguese Ruben Diaz (Manchester City), Argentine Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan) and Denmark’s Simon Kjaer (AC Milan).

Fifth batch:

Poland’s Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), Italy’s Georgino (Chelsea), Egypt’s Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Spain’s Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea) and Belgium’s Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea).

Sixth batch:

Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United), Spaniard Gerard Moreno (Villarreal), English Phil Foden (Manchester City), French Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain) and Uruguayan Luis Suarez (Atletico Madrid).

The award will be presented at a ceremony to be held on November 29 in the French capital, Paris.

The list of 30 nominees for this prestigious award, which was canceled last year due to the novel coronavirus pandemic, was chosen based on the votes of 180 football journalists from around the world.

The last winner of the award was the Argentine Lionel Messi in 2019, to be unique in the number of times he won the Golden Ball award with six balls, in the years 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015 and 2019, and the partnership with Cristiano Ronaldo, who won the award five times, years: 2008, 2013, 2014, and 2016, 2017.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *